R11 / Suk – Dvořák – Martinů • Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Others


Josef Suk
Fantastic Scherzo, op. 25

Antonín Dvořák
The Golden Spinning Wheel, symphonic poem, op. 109

Bohuslav Martinů
Czech Rhapsody, H. 118


Petr Altrichter conductor
Ivan Kusnjer baritone
Daniela Valtová Kosinová organ
Czech Philharmonic Choir of Brno
Petr Fiala choirmaster

Photo illustrating the event R11 / Suk – Dvořák – Martinů Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

The renowned conductor Petr Altrichter will present a programme of music by three generations of Czech composers with the PRSO who are interconnected by the teacher-student relationship. Josef Suk, whose brilliant Fantastic Scherzo will be performed as the first piece, was a student of Antonín Dvořák, the author of the symphonic poem The Golden Spinning Wheel, inspired by the ballad of the same name from Karel Jaromír Erben’s collection A Bouquet of Czech Folktales. The evening will culminate with the Czech Rhapsody, a cantata for baritone, organ and orchestra. The young Bohuslav Martinů, a student of Josef Suk, composed it in 1918, the year when Czechoslovakia gained its independence. In his patriotic work, he used the text of a biblical psalm, the poem Bohemia by Jaroslav Vrchlický, and the Saint Wenceslas Chorale. He dedicated the piece to the writer Alois Jirásek. The successful premiere took place in 1919 in the presence of the president of the newly established republic, Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk.

The best of the Rudolfinum

5 times a year directly to your e-mail.
Join 9500+ readers.

Your e-mail is safe with us. One-click logout.

What are you looking for?