R6 / Ilan Volkov – 20th Century Classic • Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

Meeting with the artists before the concert. Rudolfinum | Talich Lounge | 1st floor | 6.30–7.15 pm

  • Others


Viktor Kalabis
Symphonic Variations, op. 24

Benjamin Britten
Sinfonia da Requiem, op. 20

Martin Smolka

Sergei Prokofiev
Symphony No. 7 in C sharp minor, op. 131


Ilan Volkov conductor

Photo illustrating the event R6 / Ilan Volkov – 20th Century Classic Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

Tickets and contact information

The sale of individual tickets for subscription concerts (orchestral, chamber, educational) will begin on Wednesday 7 June 2023 at 10.00 a.m. Tickets for the public dress rehearsals will go on sale on 13 September 2023 at 10.00 a.m.

Customer Service of Czech Philharmonic

Tel.:  +420 227 059 227

E-mail: info@czechphilharmonic.cz

Customer service is available on weekdays from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm.


A varied programme combining music by Czech, English and Russian composers will feature a guest appearance by leading Israeli conductor Ilan Volkov. The evening will open with Symphonic Variations, composed by Viktor Kalabis at the instigation of the Czech Philharmonic and its former chief conductor Václav Neumann. This will be followed by the Sinfonia da Requiem, whose title and the titles of the individual movements refer to the Latin Mass for the dead. Twenty-six-year-old Benjamin Britten composed the work in 1940 as a requiem for his parents. It also reflected the dark atmosphere of the beginning of the Second World War. After the break, the programme will continue with Nostalgia, a composition written by leading contemporary composer Martin Smolka for the Prague Spring Festival in 2004. The evening will culminate with the Seventh Symphony, the last great work by Sergei Prokofiev. The composition was commissioned by the editors of children and youth programmes at Moscow Radio. Although playful motifs referring to the world of childhood can be detected in it, Prokofiev created an elaborate work whose melancholic tone irritated the Soviet authorities so much that they demanded that the seriously ill composer rework it.

The best of the Rudolfinum

5 times a year directly to your e-mail.
Join 9500+ readers.

Your e-mail is safe with us. One-click logout.

What are you looking for?