Gidon Kremer & Philip Glass • Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Others


Bohuslav Martinů
Thunderbolt P-47, H. 309

Philip Glass
Double Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony no. 7 in A major, op. 92


Omer Meir Wellber conductor
Gidon Kremer violin
Giedrė Dirvanauskaitė cello

Photo illustrating the event Gidon Kremer & Philip Glass Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

The Czech debut of the leading Israeli conductor Omer Meir Wellber promises an extremely attractive programme. The evening will open with the orchestral scherzo Thunderbolt P47, which Bohuslav Martinů wrote immediately after the end of the Second World War, inspired by the eponymous fighter that became a symbol of the American Air Force. Subsequently, the legendary Latvian violinist Gidon Kremer will join the orchestra together with the Lithuanian cellist Giedrė Dirvanauskaitė, and in the Czech premiere they will present the Double Concerto for Violin and Cello by Philip Glass. One of the founders of minimalism in music, who today belongs to the most famous living authors, wrote the half-hour work in 2010 originally as a ballet music. The programme culminates with Ludwig van Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, which has been called the “apotheosis of the dance” for its thrilling rhythmic ideas.

The best of the Rudolfinum

5 times a year directly to your e-mail.
Join 9500+ readers.

Your e-mail is safe with us. One-click logout.

What are you looking for?