Czech Chamber Music Society • Zemlinsky Quartet

The Zemlinsky Quartet is well known on the local concert stages. They have born the name of the famous composer since 2005. Already as the Penguin Quartet they were famous for their comedic musical performances. Despite Marek Kozák’s youth, he is already an established, successful pianist. Their joint performance promises to be a treat.

Subscription series DK | Czech Chamber Music Society


Bedřich Smetana
String Quartet No. 2 in D minor (18')

Jan Novák
Quadricinium fidium, string quartet (18')

— Intermission —

Vítězslav Novák
Piano Quintet in A minor, Op. 12 (30')


Zemlinsky Quartet
František Souček violin I
Petr Střížek violin II
Petr Holman viola
Vladimír Fortin cello

Marek Kozák piano

Photo illustrating the event Czech Chamber Music Society • Zemlinsky Quartet

Liechtenstein Palace — Martinů Hall

Can't order online
Price from 230 Kč to 260 Kč Tickets and contact information

The sale of individual tickets for subscription concerts (orchestral, chamber, educational) will begin on Wednesday 7 June 2023 at 10.00 a.m. Tickets for the public dress rehearsals will go on sale on 13 September 2023 at 10.00 a.m.

Customer Service of Czech Philharmonic

Tel.:  +420 227 059 227


Customer service is available on weekdays from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm.


No Czech string quartet can omit Smetana’s String Quartet No. 2 in D minor from its repertoire. The work’s brevity makes it all the more intense. Smetana himself recalled that while composing it, his health permitted him to write no more than a single line of score per day. Another composer celebrating an anniversary this season is Jan Novák; as of 2021, exactly 100 years have passed since his birth. From his vast oeuvre we have chosen the String Quartet No. 1 (1977). The Piano Quintet in A minor, Op. 12 dates from Vítězslav Novák’s early period. Just a few years later, he was producing such works as the Slovak Suite and the opera The Zvíkov Imp. By including his composition, we are repaying a debt to this rather unjustly neglected composer from the turn of the 19th and 20st centuries.