From My Life

Bedřich Smetana titled his String Quartet No. 1 in E minor aptly, From My Life. "I wanted to depict the course of my life in the tones," he writes, emphasising that he did not write the music according to the usual recipes, but that this quartet "took the form it has by itself". He completed the composition before the end of 1876.

Subscription series KK | Education programs | Duration of the programme 1 hour 30 minutes | From 12 years


Bedrich Smetana
String Quartet No. 1 in E minor


Magdaléna Mašlaňová 1. violin and artistic direction
Zdeňka Hájková viola
Petr Mašlaň cello
Matěj Polášek violin

Petr Kadlec guide

Photo illustrating the event From My Life

Rudolfinum — Suk Hall

Available seats Book online
Available seats Book online
Price 250 CZK Tickets and contact information

Customer Service of Czech Philharmonic

Tel.: +420 227 059 227

Customer service is available on weekdays from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm.


The programme is based on a musical part but also on a spoken word that will be given in Czech language only. The programme will not be supplied with English subtitles.