Four Steps to the New World • Janáček’s Sinfonietta

The programme is based on a musical part but also on a spoken word that will be given in Czech language only. The program will not be supplied with English subtitles.

  • Subscription series 4K
  • |
  • Duration of the programme 2 hours


“There’s been enough for me to put down my pen – once I finish work on my pretty Sinfonietta with its fanfares! I can remember the fanfares in Písek! That was nice, back then.” The inspiration for one of the most beautiful symphonic compositions of the twentieth century was in fact a wind band that Janáček heard somewhere in southern Bohemia. But the power with which the whole work is charged is not that of wind band music. It is captured by the composer’s words spoken in England shortly after he finished the Sinfonietta. “I come with the young spirit of our homeland, with young music. I’m not the sort of person who likes to look back; I prefer to look ahead. I know that we must grow, and I do not see this growth in pain, in recollections of suffering and repression. Let us cast this off! We are a nation that has a place of importance in the world! We are the heart of Europe! And in Europe, this heart must be felt!”


Czech Student Philharmonic
(players of the Czech Philharmonic, members of the Czech Philharmonic Orchestral Academy and music school students)

Marko Ivanović

Petr Kadlec

Photo illustrating the event Four Steps to the New World Janáček’s Sinfonietta

Rudolfinum — Dvorak Hall

The best of the Rudolfinum

5 times a year directly to your e-mail.
Join 9500+ readers.

Your e-mail is safe with us. One-click logout.

What are you looking for?