Photo illustrating page  Four Steps to the New World Dvořák’s New World Symphony

Dvořák’s New World Symphony • Four Steps to the New World

Czech Philharmonic

The programme is based on a musical part but also on a spoken word that will be given in Czech language only. The program will not be supplied with English subtitles.

Subscription series 4K
Duration of the programme 2 hod


Dvořák was terribly worried about whether moving to the United States of America, where he was the director of the National Conservatory in New York from 1892 to 1895, might cost him his inspiration – whether he would be able to write music at all or would lose the source of his musical ideas being so far from Bohemia. The New World Symphony – as the first work he composed in America – showed that he had no need to worry. But throughout the work, we find traces of this tension and struggle. We also find something characteristic of Dvořák in the piece, and one of the critics at the premiere of the symphony “From the New World” captured it beautifully: He has a dark complexion, dark hair, thin in front. His short, dark beard is beginning to turn grey. The large dark eyes are steady. His face is honest and friendly and its expression reveals an open and guileless nature – but sometimes his gaze seems to turn somewhere far away…”


Czech Student Philharmonic 
(players of the Czech Philharmonic, members of the Czech Philharmonic Orchestral Academy and music school students)

Marko Ivanović

Petr Kadlec

Photo illustrating the event Dvořák’s New World Symphony Four Steps to the New World

Rudolfinum — Dvorak Hall

9 May 2019  Thursday 7.30pm
Can't order online
What are you looking for?

Play your part

Donate now
What are you looking for?